The Student Room Group

Becoming a teacher with a mental health nursing degree?!

I am in my third year of mental health nursing (BSc) and this is my first degree. I have really struggled at most of my placements but have had one or two good ones. I thought that maybe second year I just found hard because I missed placements in first year and online learning just isn't for me but moving forward into my third year I'm realising nursing just isn't the right career path for me. I love providing care for people and being a part of their 'journey' but my own mental health has deteriorated and it's just not for me. I think when I applied for my degree, I felt pressure to apply for a university course and mistook my passion for mental health as wanting to become a mental health nurse. I feel like dropping out isn't an option because it would be such a waste of money, so my idea is to graduate and then at least I have a degree under my belt. Since secondary school, teaching is something that has had my attention but for some reason I never pursued it and now I'm feeling like it may be something I would like to do and I haven't made the decision between primary and secondary. I would ideally like to teach humanities (if I worked at a secondary school) but I don't think my degree is relevant enough for a school to accept me and I'm not sure I'll get funding for a second degree. On top of all of this I won't complete my degree until November and feel like I will miss opportunities to start a new course or job in September. Does anyone know of any options for me as to how I could get experience working at a school or completing my PDGE with a MH nursing degree without having to undertake another degree? I hope this makes sense !