The Student Room Group

How and what laptop should I pick?

I am thinking of getting a laptop for BSc Biology.
I am currently in First Year so I have hardly seen the extent it might be used for, besides a need to draw on it.

I just know it needs to be lightweight, touch screen and roughly 14 inches.
I was thinking of also using it as a gaming and family laptop.
I might use it for other software things like video editing graphic design.
The specifications I was looking at were a 16GB RAM and a 1TB SSD for a Windows.

Our current family laptop is terrible, being excruciatingly slow for everything.
It has 4GB of RAM and a 909GB HDD.

A few people doing the same course have HP, specifically HP Pavilion.

A friend doing Year 2 Environmental Science has a HP x360 EliteBook. It cost £800 and she got it from PC World. She also had to buy an £80 stylus for it.

A friend who does a non-STEM course has a laptop more for gaming-
Lenovo Legion 5, AMD Ryzen 5, 8GB RAM, 512GB SSD, NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3060.
He got it from Costco.
It costed £900 and he paid another £50 to add another 8GB RAM and a 1TB SSD
He says he loves it.

Another non-STEM friend got a refurbished laptop for £300 with 8GB RAM and 1TB storage.
It cannot run higher end games but manages others decently.
According to him, a higher end laptops from there should only be around £500.
Two people, including someone tech-savvy, said it seemed amazing for the price.
He got it from a website called LaptopsDirect.

I also called PC World and the guy promoted 2 laptops:
a Thin Acer Swift 3 AMD Ryzen 7, 1TB SSD, 8GB RAM for £650
and a Thin MSI GF63 Intel® Core™ i5, GTX 1650, 512 GB SSD, 8GB RAM for £660.
He seemed quite adamant about pushing these two, especially pushing their prices.

My options for where to buy one seem to be PC World, John Lewis, Costco and LaptopsDirect.