ILikeChina87181
Badges: 12
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 2 weeks ago
I'm in yr11 and have the option to either take IB or A levels.
I wondering which one would be more difficult in the end.

If I do IB, it will just be the regular diploma.

But with A levels I would have to do 4 (you can drop one after yr12), plus an EPQ, and I think AS general studies.
They will also force us to do community service either way, but at least with IB, you can use it for CAS.

This makes me inclined to think that perhaps just taking IB would be better. Especially since my goal of study is mainly in the USA.

What makes me nervous is how hard the SL subjects in IB are.
Is it as hard as an AS? Or more like a slightly harder GCSE?

I'm mainly a STEM student and doing IB would force me to do english lit, which I'm slightly afraid of.
So is there a massive leap in difficulty like in A levels?

This is all stressing me out a bit, because I'm afraid of making the wrong decision with this.

Any information would be great!
Thanks for reading.
wenso
Badges: 2
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 2 weeks ago
Hi! I am currently in year 13 and I study the IB and it’s definitely a lot of work compared to a levels. I don't study STEM subjects at higher level, but subjects at SL are only extending from GCSE knowledge rather than being as hard as a level content so you don’t need to worry about that.

I do English Lit at HL and it’s so much better than GCSE english (i hated it at GCSE) but my friend does it at SL and it’s basically a similar workload to HL but you only study fewer texts and have one less coursework to do.

If you want to study in America, then I would say IB is the better option as the process is less longer and not as complicated as doing A levels.