Gamsat advice: How to best prepare (very long post)

Watch
dannie_boi
Badges: 0
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 1 week ago
GAMSAT September 2021 sitting:

MY BACKGROUND:

I am from a non-English background and have lived in the UK for the last 9 years. I am stressing this fact because I hope no one feels put off from the exam because of a disadvantage with their English abilities (i.e. Section 1 and Section 2). If I can do it, most of you certainly can.

I am currently a second-year biomedical science student trying to get into medicine after a shambolic A-level results day (I did not actually sit my A-levels as I was in the first year affected by the pandemic and was given low grades). I told myself if I did well in the GAMSAT I would share my advice here. Well, I somehow managed to do so in my first-sitting so here I am sharing my journey on how I prepared for the GAMSAT and some things I wish I had been aware of.

I did a good 3 months of solid studying before the exam during the summer (June -> September) for around 3-6 hours a day. Usually 1 day off a week, sometimes 2 if I needed it. Sometimes I did less than 3 hours a day. For 3 months before I started solid study, I was trying to find out what the GAMSAT was about, how I could prepare for it and where I could find good resources. I also did a very small amount of studying during that time, no more than an average of 1 hour a week (I had been focusing on my university course). Hopefully, my advice will be of some use to you all.

My score - 52/64/78, OVERALL - 68 (91st percentile)

(perhaps I am not the best person to give Section 1 advice as it was relatively low, but I will do it anyway)

MOST IMPORTANT THINGS TO TAKE FROM THIS: