I ended things with my bf of 4 years - I need someone to talk to

Watch
Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 1 week ago
Hi guys.

I'll try to be brief.

My bf & I have been together for 4 years and a half. The first 2 years were wonderful, but somewhere down the line, things started changing. I soon realized what kind of man he is (mostly good, but he has his dark moments of emotional manipulation & making me feel guilty & playing the victim).

To me, our relationship ended at the beginning of this year, because at one point, I felt we both stopped caring/trying. No love, no passion, no chemistry, nothing.

I've been contemplating on how to tell him for the past several months. I was really scared because he's the type of person who threatens to 'destroy me', 'f*** me over', and 'ruin my life'. I was really scared he would spread false rumors about me to our mutual friends & our families.

Bear in mind he's the first guy I introduced my friends & family to. They all loved him. But they don't know how much emotionally abusive he can be (I've written many threads here on TSR within the past few years about his abuse & lots of you told me to leave him). But I couldn't. Because I loved him. But after sitting with myself for a long time, I realized that I do deserve better. I deserve to be happy. I deserve the full package, not whenever he feels like it. (He really reminds me of the guy from the tv series on Netflix "Maid" & how emotionally abusive he can be).

Can you imagine that we haven't been fully intimate in 2 years? (we didnt go all the way for 2 whole years - sorry for tmi). We live 20 mins away but he stopped attempting to see me... and then I got busy with my postgraduate studies & work & been under lots of stress & personal things I was dealing with.. yet he would text & blame me and curse at me and say that I'm not making an effort... I told him it's a 2 way thing but he won't hear it.