Blue_Bunny
Badges: 12
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 5 months ago
I'm a Y11 student and struggle immensely with German Grammar, I honestly don't know a single rule. How do I know what is make or female or when to put an umlaut or the word order of a sentence? Any links to websites or revision books would be greatly appreciated (I'm on the AQA spec). I'm predicted a 7, which isn't too bad but really I want a minimum 8 and I know its my writing letting me down, so any advice?
maddy1809
Badges: 6
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 5 months ago
There is no way of knowing whether a noun is feminine, masculine or neutral - you just have to learn it unfortunately.
Some words always have umlauts, some get umlauts in their plural form, but again it depends what word you are looking at.
Word order can be quite complicated - I might be able to help if you give a specific example. (I'm not fluent, but I can remember the basic grammar rules)
I did AQA at GCSE and found the CPG book helpful
Blue_Bunny
Rep:
Word order confuses me because I've heard my teacher ' weil send the verb to the end' but also ' verb is the second idea', so which rules is more 'important'? and where I put words such as ist because to me there seems no continuity between the rulings. If you don't mind me asking, what did you get at GCSE and what would you say was your best revision resource/method? Also, which CGP book should I get?
maddy1809
Badges: 6
Rep:
Report 5 months ago
There are words like 'weil' that send the verb to the end, for example:
Ich werde schwimmen gehen, weil es unterhaltsham ist. (I am going to go swimming because it is entertaining.)