Do Universities have safeguarding?

Watch
JVM2020
Badges: 16
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 2 weeks ago
Never was aware of safeguarding until I graduated from University.

I was just wondering if it is available in universities. I know that workplaces have them and wondered if here as I find Safeguarding a very crucial facility in all establishments.
Bristolbb
Badges: 4
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 2 weeks ago
I'm sure certain departments like student services and wellbeing have to be trained in safeguarding
Anonymous #1
Report 2 weeks ago
(Original post by JVM2020)

I was just wondering if it is available in universities. I know that workplaces have them and wondered if here as I find Safeguarding a very crucial facility in all establishments.
i assumed workplaces didnt..?
JVM2020
Rep:
Report Thread starter 2 weeks ago
(Original post by Bristolbb)
I'm sure certain departments like student services and wellbeing have to be trained in safeguarding
You are answering my question there.
University of Portsmouth Student Rep
Rep:
Report 1 week ago
(Original post by JVM2020)

Hi,

I think it would depend on what department of the university it is, but yes safeguarding is very much in place at university. Some university jobs require safeguarding training, especially working on outreach activities with smaller children.

Andrew
University of Portsmouth Student Rep
gjd800
Badges: 20
Rep:
Report 1 week ago
Yes, it's not just 'some' jobs. We are all expected to abide by certain safeguarding practices.
gjd800
Badges: 20
Rep:
Report 1 week ago
(Original post by Anonymous)
i assumed workplaces didnt..?