reilune
Badges: 1
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 14 hours ago
Hello! I’m an international student planning to study in the UK in the near future.

I intend to take Joint Honours if possible but am torn between Art History and Japanese, or History and Japanese.

I’m well aware that the University of Manchester offers Art History and Japanese while the University of Sheffield offers Japanese Studies and History. May I ask if Durham Univesity offers History and Japanese too with their Liberal Arts?

Back to the main question, I love both disciplines. I’m considering pursuing one of them first before going for a second Bachelor’s if circumstances allow at this point of time. As of now, I’m taking prospects into account, especially since the sciences are heavily valued in my society. I wish to not limit my opportunities. What are your thoughts, advice and recommendations? University recommendations are welcomed too. I do hope to enjoy the most of the UK’s culture and rich history during my time of study. Thank you!
Georgev21
Badges: 5
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 11 hours ago
Sheffield and Manchester are both good universities, I would say Manchester is better for international students as you are very likely to be able to find other people in your situation. Manchester also has a lot of cultural activities going on.

In terms of the two courses it really comes down to how focused you want to be. History will allow you a wider choice of subject matter but if art history is what you want to do then go for it.

I study History of Art at Manchester so I can personally say the department is very good with great teachers and content and i would be happy to answer any specific questions you might have
Uni of Hull Students
Badges: 14
Rep: