The Student Room Group

Appealing final degree classification (59.30% / 2.2) - is there any point?

So, I got my final degree mark this week, which was 59.30% and a 2:2 at my institution. Understandably I feel disappointed as a 2:1 would have opened so many more doors for me, and I was only a whisker away.

I just spoke with a student union representative at my institution who said that even if I appeal, there would be zero chance of my grade going up. They said the only option I would have (if my appeal was successful) would be to resit modules / assessments whereby I received a low grade, and to have my grade increased.

Does anyone know if this is correct, as I have seen other posts saying that when they appealed against a borderline results, the exam board just increased their grade.

Whilst I do feel I have grounds to appeal, e.g. health issues I was not aware of at the time, COVID during my final assessments, and personal circumstances, I'm still not sure I want to appeal if I have to retake further exams / modules as the university is literally 300 miles away, and I have moved back home.
Reply 1
So, I got my final degree mark this week, which was 59.30% and a 2:2 at my institution. Understandably I feel disappointed by this as a 2:1 would have opened so many more doors for me, and I was only a whisker away. Plus I worked incredibly hard.

I just spoke with a student union representative at my institution who said that even if I appeal and it was successful, there would be zero chance of my grade going up. They said the only option I would have would be to resit modules / assessments whereby I received a low grade, and to have my grade increased.

Does anyone know if this is correct, as I have seen other posts saying that when they appealed against their borderline final result, the exam board just increased their classification and they weren't required to do anything else as their grounds for appealing were enough.