Career change: forensic science to computer science/software engineer

Watch
iixjessa
Badges: 5
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Hello, I currently do Psychology, Biology, and Philosophy & Ethics A Level due to me wanting to become a forensic psychologist in the future. However, I recently decided to change my career pathway to computer science/software engineering as I did work experience and really enjoyed it. I also have previous knowledge of Python from being a self-taught developer. Some universities don’t require maths/physics/computer for example Newcastle, but do you recommend I do Maths A Level as a private candidate to ensure I’m not at any disadvantage?

I got a 7 in the Maths GCSE, but my school isn’t allowing me to switch one of my A Level’s as they have already covered a lot of the content.

Thank you so much, any response is helpful!
Hellokitty123abc
Badges: 4
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by iixjessa)
Hello, I currently do Psychology, Biology, and Philosophy & Ethics A Level due to me wanting to become a forensic psychologist in the future. However, I recently decided to change my career pathway to computer science/software engineering as I did work experience and really enjoyed it. I also have previous knowledge of Python from being a self-taught developer. Some universities don’t require maths/physics/computer for example Newcastle, but do you recommend I do Maths A Level as a private candidate to ensure I’m not at any disadvantage?

I got a 7 in the Maths GCSE, but my school isn’t allowing me to switch one of my A Level’s as they have already covered a lot of the content.
Thank you so much, any response is helpful!