The Student Room Group

best unis for philosophy

Im an English student, my predicted is AAA and A* EPQ. I aim to apply by Wednesday for V500 or V501 course (if available) but i need to narrow my choices, currently it is Exeter, Bristol, Leeds, Manchester, Nottingham, UCL, KCL, Edinburgh, St Andrews, possibly Dundee. Just looking for advice, opinions, on any of them, if you think one is better than another (+ why) thanks!
I know nothing about philosophy and how each university does it but hopefully this will be helpful advice.

When I considered the ones I applied to I looked at location, course modules, student satisfaction and accommodation before finally looking at ranking. When you firm your first choice you should really be in love with the university as well as the course. My firm and insurance both have great courses and modules I am interested in doing but the location of my firm really makes me want to go there more.

You’ve got 10 great choices so I’d recommend what I saw someone else do and do a ranking excel sheet of all 10 and maybe have a parent do it with you, the more opinions you get the better informed decisions you’ll make.
Reply 2
Original post by lotusberry10
I know nothing about philosophy and how each university does it but hopefully this will be helpful advice.

When I considered the ones I applied to I looked at location, course modules, student satisfaction and accommodation before finally looking at ranking. When you firm your first choice you should really be in love with the university as well as the course. My firm and insurance both have great courses and modules I am interested in doing but the location of my firm really makes me want to go there more.

You’ve got 10 great choices so I’d recommend what I saw someone else do and do a ranking excel sheet of all 10 and maybe have a parent do it with you, the more opinions you get the better informed decisions you’ll make.