Provisional SFE entitlement for new course

Watch
mah1000000
Badges: 13
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Apologies for the long text.

This year I have applied for 2022 entry onto a new course after dropping out of my current course, due to mental health issues, and I was wondering if I could get a provisional prediction for how many years on my new course will be funded by SFE and how many I will need to self-fund.

I studied two 'complete' years on my first degree + one term of study abroad where I only had to pay a reduced fee to my home university. (This was only for one term September-December as I then terminated my study).

My understanding is that the calculation is: (New course length + 1 year) - years studied.

Does this mean that if my new course is 5 years the calculation will run: (5 + 1) - 2 = 4

Therefore, I will need to self-fund for one year? Or does my additional year abroad term mess this up?

TLDR: I have studied 2 years and 1 term, reapplying for 5 year course, how much will SFE cover?
Last edited by mah1000000; 1 month ago
PQ
Badges: 21
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 1 month ago
If you have studied 2 years and 1 term then SFE consider that 3 years of previous study.

If your new course is 5 years long then you will have 3 years of funding remaining. Unfunded years come first and in an unfunded year you will get a maintenance loan but no tuition fee loan.

If you can prove that you left your previous course due to compelling personal reasons then SFE are likely to disregard one year of your previous study.
mah1000000
Rep:
(Original post by PQ)
If you have studied 2 years and 1 term then SFE consider that 3 years of previous study.