Kenan_N_Kel
Badges: 4
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
My question is this,

Given im a mature student, what universities are basically no point applying for. I have heard id never get into Oxford which is a given. Any others?

Whats the best unis for chinese while at the same time accepting mature students?
Kenan_N_Kel
Badges: 4
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
(Original post by Wokeaijile)
学中文太难了, 选择别的吧
have no idea what you said..

I want to learn Chinese. Never said i started.
artful_lounger
Badges: 21
Rep:
Report 1 month ago
Oxford do accept mature students, and in fact have an entire college exclusively for mature students (undergraduates and postgraduates)....so no idea why you're writing that off. In any case in general good options probably include Oxford, Cambridge, SOAS, and Leeds. Apparently Edinburgh has a decent Chinese department but I only know of what Japanese is like there, but from what I've heard the students enjoy their time in the department there.

Something to note though is that basically all unis will want to see some evidence of recent academic study within the last three years. This could be an Access to HE course, OU modules, A-levels (often mature students do these by distance learning), etc, etc. Since Chinese courses normally have no subject specific prerequisites there is no reason to prefer one option over another necessarily. That said they may want to see some evidence of language learning ability as well so if you are able to pursue some study option which includes language learning, or do some formal language study (which awards some kind of certificate or similar) alongside that might be ideal.