Are my A Levels suitable for law?

Watch
missling40
Badges: 11
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Hi, I'm currently a Year 11 student who's just done her mocks predicted straight 9s and wants to do law.

I'm thinking of doing English Lit, Economics, Maths, Further Maths and then maybe an EPQ (since doing the FSMQ means I've done most of the Maths A Level so I'm hoping the workload would be slightly more manageable because I'll just be recapping old stuff).

Is this combination suitable for a competitive application for law or do I need to do more essay subjects? If so, would doing essay competitions, writing for the school newspaper, EPQ, etc. make up for the lack of essay subjects?

I'm also sorta considering History and Politics, though tbh History is putting me off because it's extremely content heavy and whilst essays are my strong suit, memorising dates is not.

Also, does anyone have any insight into what doing an EPQ is like? I'm not entirely sure if I want to do it yet if I'm thinking of doing four A Levels already 😅 I'm still not entirely sure about Further Maths, so we'll just have to see how the FSMQ goes :/
Last edited by missling40; 1 month ago
EOData
Badges: 16
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 1 month ago
Doing FSMQ does not mean you have done most of A level Maths.

Yes, your combination is good, although you'd be better off not taking FM if it reduces your chances of getting A*s ins the rest. There is no need to do more essay subjects - I've known people get into top universities without any standard ones (e.g. Cambridge with Maths, Further Maths, Chemistry and French).
missling40
Badges: 11
Rep:
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
(Original post by EOData)
Doing FSMQ does not mean you have done most of A level Maths.