The Student Room Group

I hate myself for my LLM degree

Bit of a rant (sorry in advance) but I can’t stop thinking about this.

I graduated from KCL with a LL.M merit (67) in international financial law.

I feel like an absolute loser because I see all my friends getting distinction (we’re all in the same course). I have immense passionate about the modules I took. But I messed in the finance module and the practice project, both modules I got a score in the low 60s which dragged me down.

I keep thinking I could’ve done better and that I had a shot at a distinction, but now I just feel stupid, useless, and embarrassed. I feel like I let my family down, I let myself down and I let my professors down. And that I’ve basically failed my masters.

Its been a couple days since I got my grades and I still can’t stop hating myself for what I got, and I just don’t know what to do.
(edited 2 years ago)
Original post by Jam3sBM

I feel like an absolute loser because I see all my friends getting distinction (we’re all in the same course). I have immense passionate about the modules I took. But I messed in the finance module and the practice project, both modules I got a score in the low 60s which dragged me down.

I keep thinking I could’ve done better and that I had a shot at a distinction, but now I just feel stupid, useless, and embarrassed. I feel like I let my family down, I let myself down and I let my professors down. And that I’ve basically failed my masters.

Its been a couple days since I got my grades and I still can’t stop hating myself for what I got, and I just don’t know what to do.

i hate myself too
I'm so sorry you feel that way. But I feel like the marks you've obtained doesn't really matter as much later on does it? Getting a masters (especially in a university like KCL ) isn't something easy. So please don't beat yourself up for it.
Original post by Jam3sBM

That is a course not you as a person.