Which university should i pick?

Watch this thread
ananya01r
Badges: 2
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 6 months ago
I am a prospective postgraduate student in Biosciences (more towards medical and pharma microbiology). Currently, I have offers from the University of Manchester, Leeds, Glasgow, Aberdeen, Exeter, Queen Mary University of London and even UCD in Ireland.
I am from India and I am so very confused about which university I should pick? My major deciding factors would definitely be job opportunities and lower living costs because the curriculum is more or less the same everywhere.
Please help
normaw
Badges: 15
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 6 months ago
In terms of cost of living, have a look at Nat West's Student Living Index 2021:

https://www.natwest.com/life-moments...ing-index.html

However, it only includes 20+ unis in the survey so not all your choices are covered. If you search for student lets in the cities you have applied to, you will get a good idea of accommodation costs.

Also, think about the type of environment you will be happy living in terms of facilities, transport, access to airports, etc. Exeter will be very different to London.
mike23mike
Badges: 14
Rep:
Report 6 months ago
All are top unis. Given you are from India you need to consider your culture. There is not a huge Indian community in Aberdeen but a large community in London. Thus, going to Queen Mary in London would be a safer bet from a cultural viewpoint. It is based in East London, near to Brick Lane with hundreds of Bangladeshi restaurants and shops where you can buy Indian spices and Food that you simply will not find in Aberdeen.

However, the cost of living in London is horrid - £800 a month rent versus half that in Manchester, Leeds or Glasgow.