The Student Room Group

Would you rather have £200,000 or a social life?

Simple question. If given the option, would you rather graduate with £200,000 and no student loan, but in the process of that, you must live with your parent, not drink alcohol, no girl/boyfriend and never go to a party - i.e. no uni 'experience'.

I ask this from personal experience through the last 3 years at university - I am in my final year. Due to the huge bull market, I managed to have these gains (+- 20k) - but at the cost described above. Whenever I tell people that I have never gone 'out' in university, they tell me you're missing out. I wanted to know whether it was worth it or not? Looking back I feel I should spent time at university, however both university workload and monitoring the stock market is exceptionally difficult (try it).

Was it worth it? And no I'm not Oxbridge/Londoners with wealthy parents.
Idc if I get 1 million... I won't live with my parents no matter what... I don't care about dating or drinking but I'm not living with parents.
Original post by summerbirdreads
Idc if I get 1 million... I won't live with my parents no matter what... I don't care about dating or drinking but I'm not living with parents.

£1 million! Your parents must be serial killers of something? What's so bad living with parents?
Original post by 1+x+x^2+x^3+...
£1 million! Your parents must be serial killers of something? What's so bad living with parents?

Try living with them for day.. you won't be asking questions then lol.
(edited 2 years ago)
I rather have a social life.

I can't stand my mum, let alone live with her for longer than necessary. And idc about the £200,000. I can't miss what i don't have.
£200k because I’m already living like that (except the parent part) anyways so it would be nice to get paid.
(edited 2 years ago)
@summerbirdreads @1secondsofvamps OK, remove the parents, but the rest still applies? How about now?