The Student Room Group

Is it a History master's worth it?

I'm in my final year of History at University of Bristol. I studied History for undergraduate only because I really enjoy the subject, I wasn't thinking much about graduate prospects when I picked the subject.

Now almost at the end of my course I find myself really stumped on what to do next. I'm currently planning on doing a Master's in history because I enjoy the subject and I don't know what I'm doing next but I have some vague belief that having a master's will give me an advantage in whatever comes next.

Is this a good reason to do a master's? I'm not from a rich background so having to fund my master's is a big financial risk for me and I'm going to have to live frugally next year, but I'm not really sure what else to do...
Original post by Mish2000
I'm in my final year of History at University of Bristol. I studied History for undergraduate only because I really enjoy the subject, I wasn't thinking much about graduate prospects when I picked the subject.

Now almost at the end of my course I find myself really stumped on what to do next. I'm currently planning on doing a Master's in history because I enjoy the subject and I don't know what I'm doing next but I have some vague belief that having a master's will give me an advantage in whatever comes next.

Is this a good reason to do a master's? I'm not from a rich background so having to fund my master's is a big financial risk for me and I'm going to have to live frugally next year, but I'm not really sure what else to do...

Depends what you want to do. If it's academia/research then a masters is probably worth it. If it's just for your own enjoyment then it's also probably worth it.

If it is strictly general graduate prospects then no, probably not worth it.
Original post by Blue_Cow
Depends what you want to do. If it's academia/research then a masters is probably worth it. If it's just for your own enjoyment then it's also probably worth it.