Year 1, Take 2. (GYG)

Watch
Gefforyson
Badges: 11
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 2 weeks ago
It might be a little unusual to start a grow your grades blog in the middle of the school year but hey, I found this useful last time, maybe it'll help again this year. .
I̶'̶l̶l̶ ̶b̶e̶ ̶h̶o̶n̶e̶s̶t̶ ̶t̶h̶e̶ ̶m̶a̶i̶n̶ ̶r̶e̶a̶s̶o̶n̶ ̶I̶'̶m̶ ̶d̶o̶i̶n̶g̶ ̶t̶h̶i̶s̶ ̶i̶s̶ ̶p̶r̶o̶c̶r̶a̶s̶t̶i̶n̶a̶t̶i̶o̶n̶,̶ ̶b̶u̶t̶ ̶a̶t̶ ̶l̶e̶a̶s̶t̶ ̶t̶h̶i̶s̶ ̶h̶a̶s̶ ̶a̶ ̶c̶h̶a̶n̶c̶e̶ ̶o̶f̶ ̶a̶c̶t̶u̶a̶l̶l̶y̶ ̶b̶e̶i̶n̶g̶ ̶h̶e̶l̶p̶f̶u̶l̶ ̶a̶n̶d̶ ̶k̶e̶e̶p̶i̶n̶g̶ ̶m̶e̶ ̶a̶c̶c̶o̶u̶n̶t̶a̶b̶l̶e̶.̶

As the title hints at, I'm a Uni student who's reattempting first year, after barely failing it the first time around. I'm at Bath University studying a Bsc in Mathematics.
If you want to see my first blog (started last July), and my feeble failed attempt at redeeming a year of underwork with only a few weeks and 2 exams; the link is here

The main thing I've learned from year 1 is: don't target 40%. Sure, first year doesn't count towards the degree, and sure extra work might seem unnecessary at the time, but when you end up averaging 39.6% and are forced to retake the whole year, you'll regret it.

But anyway, I'm getting ahead of myself. Here is what preceded my Uni experience, as copied from last blog.

Education History:

GCSE and A-Level:
Spoiler:
Show

GCSE:
7 9's, 3 7's, and 3 6's (or equivalent, I had a few letters in the mix my year)

A-level Grades:A* Further Maths
A* Maths
A Physics

(Not sit formally, but delayed due to coronavirus.)

Uni Year 1 Take 1
Spoiler:
Show

First Term Uni:MA10207 Analysis 1: Exam 1: 41%
MA10265 Programming and discrete mathematics: Exam 1: 58%Coursework 1: 88%
MA10209 Algebra 1A: 57%
MA10211 Probability & statistics 1A: Exam 1: 45%
MA10230 Multivariable calculus and differential equations: Exam 1: 38% Image