The Student Room Group

Young's double slit experiment question

Hi I am studying Young's double slit experiment. For the graph of Intensity against position, I have seen two graphs for the double slits - one is where the intensity is same for all the fringes in the double slit experiment.

double slit intensity decreases.png

But the other graph I saw for the Double slit experiment is where the brightest fringe is at the centre and then subsequent maximas are less intense. I am confused as to which one is correct since I thought that it was the same intensity for Young's double slit.

double slit equal intensity.png
I completely understand that for the single slit diffraction pattern, the brightest fringe is the central maxima and then subsequent maximas decrease in intensity.

single slit envelope.png
(edited 2 years ago)
Original post by integration4ever
Hi I am studying Young's double slit experiment. For the graph of Intensity against position, I have seen two graphs for the double slits - one is where the intensity is same for all the fringes in the double slit experiment.

But the other graph I saw for the Double slit experiment is where the brightest fringe is at the centre and then subsequent maximas are less intense. I am confused as to which one is correct since I thought that it was the same intensity for Young's double slit.

I completely understand that for the single slit diffraction pattern, the brightest fringe is the central maxima and then subsequent maximas decrease in intensity.

single slit envelope.png

Double slit diffraction patterns have two elements multiplied together, one is the (infinite) set of interference fringes you get just from the light from the two slits going in and out of phase as a function of position. The second is the diffraction pattern from a single slit that modifies the overall distribution so it dies away that’s your final picture.