Should I talk about mental health on my application?

Watch
randomdude121
Badges: 1
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 1 week ago
Hi everyone! I'm new to this forum and I hope I'm doing this right. As an international student, I'm curious if it would be okay to would it be okay to mention my blog on mental health and trying to share and help people with my experiences in my UCAS personal statement I don't want a university in the uk who might reject me because of my issues with mental health. its just that im an advocate and i would like to have a blog and also list it in my application. Any help would be greatly appreciated!
tipexmaster25
Badges: 18
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 1 week ago
If it's relevant to a point you're making (e.g. you're talking about developing your writing skills, being reflective, website building skills), then yes! As far as I know (even for courses like medicine which are very high workload/stress), no uni can discriminate against you for having mental health problems so it shouldn't negatively affect your application. I wouldn't make it the main focus of your UCAS application, but if you've spent a lot of time on this website then I don't see why it would be a problem to mention as an extra-curricular activity/hobby!

Just make sure that all the content on this website is stuff that you are happy sharing with the uni & stuff that you would want the admissions team to see.
jayls
Badges: 11
Rep:
Report 1 week ago