Can jobs be flexible to uni schedules?

Watch
Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 1 week ago
Hi,

I’m in my first year of uni and looking to get a job. There are a couple part time ones that look good at large corporations (e.g., Tesco, Iceland etc) but I was wondering if they are flexible to uni schedules?

I had a job previously at a tescos back home and loved it, but am unsure if it would be possible whilst at uni? Would it be possible to have one in term time that would be able to not work/transfer one closer to home (I live 3 hours away) during Easter/summer/Christmas ? Or is that unlikely?

If possible, any job recommendation?
Just any experience you may have of your uni employment would be brill, thanks!
artful_lounger
Badges: 21
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 1 week ago
Potentially but there is no guarantee. My current job was able to allow me to work around my timetabled hours but it is an admin job which is working from home so more scope to work flexibly. For service roles they often need certain levels of staff during particular times and so they can be less flexible for students if those times overlap with your lecture times. You're probably best off looking for roles that advertise hours that specifically are suitable for you, and then see if you can pick up overtime during the holiday periods.
Cancelled Alice
Badges: 20
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 1 week ago
Zero hours contract jobs might be better suited to you.
You would have to talk to the hiring manager about their expectations though to make sure you were both on the same page. You might have a legal right to turn down a shift, that doesn’t mean it’ll go down well though.
nom06
Badges: 9
Rep:
Report 1 week ago
(Original post by Anonymous)
Hi,