Can I be writing up PhD when staring the Scientist Training Programme

Watch
oranges2
Badges: 2
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 5 days ago
Hi!

I am looking to apply to the STP this year (2022). If successful, the start date would be September. I am currently in my final year pf my PhD. I was planning on submitting my thesis around August or September time but have just seen the following on the STP website:

'Any postgraduate qualifications that have been included in your application must have been successfully awarded by the start of the programme. It is a requirement of the Higher Education Institutions that applicants must not be enrolled on two academic programmes by start date of the programme'

Does this mean I would have to have submitted my thesis and completed my viva by the STP start date (beginning of September)??

Thank you!
Last edited by oranges2; 5 days ago
medicphd
Badges: 12
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 5 days ago
I'm not applying for the STP but I am applying for grad medicine as a final year PhD student. I figure the same rules apply because you'll be enrolled onto a uni programme in the same way I will.

You have to have submitted your thesis, done your viva, done your corrections and had your corrections be accepted before they'll award you the PhD, so you're enrolled with your PhD uni until all of that is finished. So you have to have done all of that before you can enrol on another uni course.
Last edited by medicphd; 5 days ago
oranges2
Badges: 2
Rep:
Report Thread starter 13 hours ago
(Original post by medicphd)
I'm not applying for the STP but I am applying for grad medicine as a final year PhD student. I figure the same rules apply because you'll be enrolled onto a uni programme in the same way I will.