The Student Room Group

should i switch from manual to automatic?

hi,
i have been learning to drive manual for just under 2 months now and i am being faced with the same problems each lesson - my lack of confidence due to becoming overwhelmed by trying to remember each thing to do when driving the car, and clutch control.
at the end of my most recent lesson my instructor offered me a free 20 minute automatic lesson (which i accepted) since she can see my constant struggle with the controls in a manual. i am slightly disheartened by this because most people i told laughed and it makes me question whether i am good enough to keep driving manually, but i think it might possibly be better for me because i like to make everything as easy as possible for myself and driving an automatic would get rid of the stress that comes with driving a manual.
my instructor has told me after the taster lesson to see how i feel and that she would be more than happy to continue manual or start or automatic lessons, but i just don't know what i should do.
i know that it would be a more practical decision for me to continue with manual lessons but i feel i may be better suited to automatic.
another issue i have is if i would be able to find a suitable car for myself if i went to automatic, since i am young driver and have a low budget.
any advice would be greatly appreciated, thank you :smile:
Original post by elliedinn
hi,
i have been learning to drive manual for just under 2 months now and i am being faced with the same problems each lesson - my lack of confidence due to becoming overwhelmed by trying to remember each thing to do when driving the car, and clutch control.