Mark for passing a module in uni

Watch
marilynnn
Badges: 7
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 4 days ago
Hello, Im a first year uni student at southampton.
So in the module im currently doing, 20% of the final grade is derived from homework sheets, another 20% from class tests and 60% from the final exam. Pass mark for individual exams are, as always, 40% but ive been trying to calculate what this means for the final exam.
Suppose if I got full marks for the homeworks and class tests, what is the minimum percentage mark I would need to get in the final exam to pass the module as a whole? Can anyone help me with calculating?
Thank you
University of Liverpool Student Rep
Badges: 11
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 4 days ago
(Original post by marilynnn)
Hello, Im a first year uni student at southampton.
So in the module im currently doing, 20% of the final grade is derived from homework sheets, another 20% from class tests and 60% from the final exam. Pass mark for individual exams are, as always, 40% but ive been trying to calculate what this means for the final exam.
Suppose if I got full marks for the homeworks and class tests, what is the minimum percentage mark I would need to get in the final exam to pass the module as a whole? Can anyone help me with calculating?
Thank you
Hi there!

So if you got 100% in terms of the homework sheets (20/20%), and class tests (20/20%) then this would total 40% of the overall marks of the module. In this case, you would be able to fail the exam and still have 40% overall in the module. However, there is sometimes special rules meaning you need to pass the examination components of a module so make sure you check this.

Good luck with your studies!

Malachy - University of Liverpool Student Rep
marilynnn
Badges: 7