The Student Room Group

Student finance and dropping out

Hi im currently in my first year of my new course (changed course after first year) and I’m disliking it as much as my previous one. I’m extremely unhappy and depressed at uni and would like to drop out.
How do I drop out without immediately needing to repay my maintenance loan in may?
May is when I get my final installment. If i complete the rest of this year at uni and then dont come back next academic year, for second year, will they still expect me to repay May’s maintenance loan?
Just please help me work out how I can drop out and not have to owe SFE money immediately, as this is making me extremely anxious. I simply cant do uni anymore, but need to be sure they wont expect me to pay money back immediately
(edited 2 years ago)
Reply 1
So if you drop out you will have to repay if you're over the earning threshold. So you will owe money to SFE but you only have to pay back if you earn over £27,295 a year. If you don't earn over that, you won't pay back.
Reply 2
But how do i do it so i dont need to pay back the final instalment prematurely
Reply 3
Original post by CCCLLL
But how do i do it so i dont need to pay back the final instalment prematurely

You won't have to pay it back until you're earning over that amount. If you earn over that amount, you'll pay a percentage of what you earn over that amount. You can't not pay it back unless you earn under that amount, I don't really understand what you're asking?
Original post by e.m1002
You won't have to pay it back until you're earning over that amount. If you earn over that amount, you'll pay a percentage of what you earn over that amount. You can't not pay it back unless you earn under that amount, I don't really understand what you're asking?

No that's no the case. If you drop out you might have to pay back some of the maintenance loan. It is not related to earnings.
Original post by CCCLLL