Dentistry after a Medical Degree

Watch this thread
CouchPotato708
Badges: 4
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 3 months ago
Hey.

I am looking to doing dentistry after I finish my medical school and training as I am really interested in Max Fax surgery. Does anyone know of universities, other than King's College London, that accept med students? Especially starting in 3rd year instead of the 1st year.

I also want to know if I can work as a dentist if I am unsuccessful in getting onto the surgery training? I am happy to work as a medical doctor but dentistry was also a top choice for me.

Any info regarding this transition is welcome! I am in 1st year so I still have a while yet to start clinicals. But it doesn't hurt to become organised now
thegeek888
Badges: 16
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 3 months ago
A friend of mine applied for Glasgow, Kings College London, Queen Mary University of London and Liverpool University. He got rejected from all, based on not having above C's in Biology and Chemistry A-Level but he had got into via clearing to Edinburgh University. He was lucky to get accepted by Liverpool University for a 4-year graduate Dentistry programme.

So I would recommend applying to Liverpool University.
McGinger
Badges: 18
Rep:
Report 3 months ago
Bristol accepts experienced medics for Dent.
CouchPotato708
Badges: 4
Rep:
Report Thread starter 3 months ago
(Original post by thegeek888)
A friend of mine applied for Glasgow, Kings College London, Queen Mary University of London and Liverpool University. He got rejected from all, based on not having above C's in Biology and Chemistry A-Level but he had got into via clearing to Edinburgh University. He was lucky to get accepted by Liverpool University for a 4-year graduate Dentistry programme.