Can I still be an immigration lawyer if I have worked for the Home Office?

Watch this thread
Tictac3
Badges: 3
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 3 months ago
I graduated with a first class law degree from a Russell Group in 2020 but since then I have been working for the Home Office.

I have always been the most interested in immigration law and I opted to study it for two semesters during my final year. I have never had any formal legal work experience but got involved in voluntary projects in my university’s law clinic and volunteered at citizens advice.

I was wondering if anyone had any thoughts on whether working for the Home Office has ruined my chances of becoming an immigration lawyer since the work of an immigration lawyer largely involves challenging Home Office decisions, not to mention the bad press that the Home Office get.
artful_lounger
Badges: 21
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 3 months ago
I imagine having experience of working there might make you better at your job as an immigration lawyer if anything...
Trinculo
Badges: 21
Rep:
Report 3 months ago
It doesn't at any stage occur to you that this might be the one thing that gives you something of a tangible edge over all the other applicants who can only say they have read the Secret Barrister and were captain of the Y7 netball team?
Crazy Jamie
Badges: 19
Rep:
Report 3 months ago
(Original post by Tictac3)
I was wondering if anyone had any thoughts on whether working for the Home Office has ruined my chances of becoming an immigration lawyer since the work of an immigration lawyer largely involves challenging Home Office decisions, not to mention the bad press that the Home Office get.