This discussion is closed.
Leanne Waters
Badges:
Report 17 years ago
Hello UK teachers, I'm a mature age student from Australia. I have approximately one year to go
before I finish my degree. I am very interested in teaching in the UK. There are about five UK
agencies that advertise for Australian teachers in our local newspaper. I have several questions. Is
there a shortage of qualified teachers in the UK. If so, why? Are Australian teachers taking
positions from local people? Overall how do local teachers feel about overseas teachers? I would
also like to hear from any Australian teachers currently working in the UK. I would be interested in
their experiences. Thanks.
Sheila :-D
Badges:
Report 17 years ago
"leanne waters" <[email protected]> gave up looking for Japan in the atlas and posted:

[q1]>Hello UK teachers, I'm a mature age student from Australia. I have approximately one year to go[/q1]
[q1]>before I finish my degree. I am very interested in teaching in the UK. There are about five UK[/q1]
[q1]>agencies that advertise for Australian teachers in our local newspaper. I have several questions.[/q1]
[q1]>Is there a shortage of qualified teachers in the UK.[/q1]

Yes, in some places, some schools and some subjects.

[q1]>If so, why?[/q1]

Pay, working conditions, pupil and parent discipline, constant change and criticism.

[q1]>Are Australian teachers taking positions from local people?[/q1]

We had an Australian teacher at my school, because we couldn't find a UK one. I don't think UK
teachers are losing jobs because of them. She eventually returned to Australia to become a
policewoman.

[q1]>Overall how do local teachers feel about overseas teachers?[/q1]

We were pleased that we didn't have to cover for that particular class, especially as we don't get
free time, so it would have meant the class being split up around the school.

[q1]>I would also like to hear from any Australian teachers currently working in the UK. I would be[/q1]