Advice on promotion

Watch this thread
Marialol
Badges: 4
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 3 months ago
I’ve been working for a retail store as a sales associate for the past 3 months. I didn’t apply for it, I actually got recruited through a website. The store was supposed to be temporary but now got extended so the company is looking for a supervisor.

It’s a small store so for the past 3 months, me and the other 3 employees have been running the store without any managers. I am one of the key holders and we all have a lot of responsibility which we have been taking care of really good.

When they decided to extend the store, they asked me if I wanted to stay for longer. I am aware one of the other employees didn’t get another offer and the other one did, but didn’t accept it.

I have found their job advert on LinkedIn posted 5 days ago and it says 0 applicants. I was wondering if it would be a good idea to contact the managers and let them know I would be open to be a supervisor? I’m debating it as they haven’t offered it to me so they might not think I’m suited for it. However, as I said, we all have been managing the store by ourselves since it opened and the duties listed on the advert are the same as the ones I’ve been doing.

Should I try it out? I guess worst case scenario, they will just say no. Pls help
Tracey_W
Badges: 17
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 3 months ago
(Original post by Marialol)
I’ve been working for a retail store as a sales associate for the past 3 months. I didn’t apply for it, I actually got recruited through a website. The store was supposed to be temporary but now got extended so the company is looking for a supervisor.