Defer or Part-Time as Postgrad? Which do I pick?

Watch this thread
Aiteach4
Badges: 2
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 3 months ago
I’m a full-time postgraduate student from Northern Ireland studying in England from last September, due to finish this September. I’ve received the max loan from SFNI (£5,500), have successfully applied for DSA, and I’m supporting myself with savings from my last job.

I’m doing what I thought would be a dream course at a good university, and I'm genuinely enjoying being back in a scholarly environment exploring a topic I love. That said, the workload and learning curve are far steeper than I anticipated. I know Master’s level is no picnic, but my God, I didn’t expect this. I got a high first in my first assignment, and that buoyed my confidence for the year ahead, but I spent most of Christmas and this month putting together a 4,000+ word essay; now I’m cramming as much as I can to answer a 5,000 word one in less than a fortnight. I feel so mentally drained at this stage that I don’t think I’m going to meet even half that one’s word count. I’m pragmatic enough to know I should submit something rather than nothing, yet I’m so tired that I’m struggling to even read the texts, never mind critique them.