not enjoying my year abroad, tips to have a better time?

Watch this thread
Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 3 months ago
i'm a languages student currently coming towards the end of my first year abroad placement and am dreading starting my second one in march.
i really disliked my first study placement here in Europe, the university here is so chaotically organised and they assign far too much work for me to keep up with. i usually struggle with seasonal depression but it's been a lot worse this year due to the combination of homesickness and hating the university i study at. i did reach out to my home university for support and they were quite helpful - scheduling weekly meetings with me to see how i am and referring me to a wellbeing officer - but overall they can't help with my studies and my exchange uni being difficult.
i really want to have a better time during my second placement, but it's in East Asia so i will be much further from home and i know that will be hard to cope with. thankfully there will be a few students from the same UK uni as me attending the same study placement, so i will have a more familiar support network, but i would really appreciate any tips people could offer on how to enjoy my next placement to the best of my ability.
EIL3EN
Badges: 8
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 3 months ago
(Original post by Anonymous)
i'm a languages student currently coming towards the end of my first year abroad placement and am dreading starting my second one in march.