Am I overreacting?

Watch this thread
YuanG
Badges: 11
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 3 months ago
I’m a mature student doing Access course at the moment.

Last year our tutor asked us to write personal statement. I wrote about how my mum’s illness drove me to medicine area, all the volunteering works I have done and how those influenced me for working in healthcare and my understanding about life.

When he read it, he pointed at a word that he couldn’t understand and claimed that is not English. I googled it in front of him and that is a English word after all.

It might not be a very good first draft I must admit. English is not my first language.

After that he laughed about my ps in front of the class. He called it a ‘creative writing’ and said I should hand this to English teacher as the assignment for creative writing unit.

When the tutorial was about to finish, he saw my phone and accused me for not change my system setting into English.

Despite all that, he gave me no advice on how to improve my ps.

And after half a year now, I still couldn’t edit my ps ever again. I can’t help think that I talked about all the pain and confusion changed my view about healthcare and life, while the people who read it will see it as a story I made up.

What should I write then? How I lead a frisbee team and worked on student club’s social media?

I haven’t talked with my tutor about this, cuz I don’t think I can control myself in front of him. I will probably just cry.

Am I overreacting?
Last edited by YuanG; 3 months ago
squirrelmonkey12
Badges: 14
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 3 months ago
Hey there,
No. I don't think you overreacted.
Clearly you've been through some hardships and that teacher should definitely not have treated you as he did.