The Student Room Group

Applying to course at Oxford which recommends A-Level maths?

I am a year 12 student studying History, Economics and Spanish. I love economics and would love to study it at uni but most top unis require maths A-Level. The next best courses for me are courses such as PPE and history + economics. However, at Oxford and some other top unis, they still ‘recommend’ but don’t require A-Level maths. I got an 8 at GCSE - is it worth applying to these courses or not?
(edited 2 years ago)
Over 95% of successful applicants to PPE in most years recently have A-level Maths, and when I last looked 100% of successful applicants to history and economics had A-level Maths (both at Oxford) for the last several application cycles. It's "recommended" but functionally should be viewed as a requirement unless your school doesn't offer A-level Maths at all.

Also note that degree level economics is rather dissimilar to A-level Economics as it is not an essay based subject but primarily a mathematical problem solving based subject. Hence, A-level Maths is widely required and even if you didn't take it, you would have to cover that material in the degree (and then more). There are some other economics related courses that are not so mathematical though, such as political economy or economic history.

If you are keen on applying to those courses at Oxford then you can try your luck but you should probably prepare for the eventuality of needing to take a gap year and A-level Maths to make a competitive application, realistically. Note that the Oxford history course (single honours, or joint honours with other non-economics subjects) does include potentially an option in first year exploring economic approaches to history and I imagine you will have plenty of scope to explore economic history topics in various papers (and some may be very amenable to that).