The Student Room Group
Inside University of Bristol
University of Bristol
Bristol

Rich People at Bristol

I'm a student looking to do English Lit at the university of Bristol. I chose Bristol because I wanted a city uni and I liked the course options but all I'm hearing about it recently is how posh it is. I'm a state school student and I REALLY don't want to be surrounded by uber rich people. Could any students currently at Bristol who came from state schools tell me what it's like? I don't want to have to go out of my way to find people like me.
Original post by cowhill
I'm a student looking to do English Lit at the university of Bristol. I chose Bristol because I wanted a city uni and I liked the course options but all I'm hearing about it recently is how posh it is. I'm a state school student and I REALLY don't want to be surrounded by uber rich people. Could any students currently at Bristol who came from state schools tell me what it's like? I don't want to have to go out of my way to find people like me.

i’m exactly the same but for politics haha!! i’ve heard so much abt snobbiness and it’s scaring me off
Inside University of Bristol
University of Bristol
Bristol
I teach there and yeah it's pretty damn affluent
Reply 3
Original post by sevendaughters
I teach there and yeah it's pretty damn affluent

so much so that I won't be able to find people I get on with?
Original post by cowhill
so much so that I won't be able to find people I get on with?

nah there's so many people go there from all walks of life ultimately, you'd have to be a real sort to have no pals!
dead uni
More worrying than the reputation for 'posh kids' is this current controversy - you might like to read this and then ask yourself if Bristol really is where you want to go to University -
https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/...ghts-activists

And equally bizzare is https://www.independent.co.uk/life-s...-b2010087.html