The Student Room Group

Uni History notes whilst reading

I'm in my first year of uni studying history. A semester in, I've been trying to figure out some good ways to take notes. Not in the lectures but rather, when reading an article or book or something.

Does anyone have any advice? Any questions that I can try and answer that work for every or almost every source. Also any note taking styles that may be better than just the standard bullet lines on a page?

Thanks!
Original post by lewis twist
You don't have to struggle I can type your notes neatly and send the via email and also do research. I'm here to help you if you need any assistance

How much?
Original post by S.Em22
I'm in my first year of uni studying history. A semester in, I've been trying to figure out some good ways to take notes. Not in the lectures but rather, when reading an article or book or something.

Does anyone have any advice? Any questions that I can try and answer that work for every or almost every source. Also any note taking styles that may be better than just the standard bullet lines on a page?

Thanks!

Hi @S.Em22

I studied History undergraduate and I found that the best way to take notes was firstly to find the key arguments in the texts. If you can find an abstract these are usually a great place to start as they tell you the key arguments in a short space (usually about 200 words). Academic reviews of books are also good as they are usually short summaries of the main arguments. When you understand a bit about what the person/s are trying to argue, you can look out and make notes on what they are arguing and what evidence they are using to back that up.

If it is a primary source some good starting places to analyse is to consider a few questions:
1) who wrote the source? what can that tell you about the purpose and perspective of the source?
2) what is the source - is it a newspaper? a government report? a poster? e.g. what does that tell you about its purpose?