The Student Room Group

Why don't more people do degree apprenticeships?

I am a student in year 12 and I have been looking at many degree apprenticeships in finance. I am predicted around 3 or 4 a stars but I'm not sure if I should apply for uni or not since there seems to be so many benefits of doing degree apprenticeships. No debt, you get to earn a wage, you get loads of experience and a full time job at the end of it. Why do degree apprenticeships have so low entry requirements compared to the top unis when it seems as though they are better? Am I missing some big disadvantage of doing a degree apprenticeship????
Reply 1
Original post by Michael G Scott
I am a student in year 12 and I have been looking at many degree apprenticeships in finance. I am predicted around 3 or 4 a stars but I'm not sure if I should apply for uni or not since there seems to be so many benefits of doing degree apprenticeships. No debt, you get to earn a wage, you get loads of experience and a full time job at the end of it. Why do degree apprenticeships have so low entry requirements compared to the top unis when it seems as though they are better? Am I missing some big disadvantage of doing a degree apprenticeship????

It’s a lot of work. You’re working full time and doing a degree on top of that. There’s also a risk of missing out on the social life uni is known for.

Degree apprenticeships can be/are very specific so people who don’t know what they want to do (which is most people at 16-18) will be taking a bigger risk by doing one than if they went to uni. Uni degrees tend to be broader.

The salary of some degree apprenticeships are a joke especially if you have to relocate.

Depending on where you live they can be hard to find locally. A lot of people on degree apprenticeships stay home which limits them to a certain area. Those who move have to find ones with a salary that they can live on (and those tend to be the most competitive).