The Student Room Group

Is a psychology masters worth it?

I graduated with a high 2:1 in psychology last year and am currently working as a mental health support worker. After graduating I really struggled to get an assistant psychologist job which really knocked my confidence. I want to eventually get on the clinical psychology doctorate course. How useful would a relevant master be in getting AP jobs and getting on the doctorate? I also have an interest in the research side of things so would doing a second dissertation for a masters be valuable for a research job? Thanks:smile:
Reply 1
Original post by EmmyParker23
I graduated with a high 2:1 in psychology last year and am currently working as a mental health support worker. After graduating I really struggled to get an assistant psychologist job which really knocked my confidence. I want to eventually get on the clinical psychology doctorate course. How useful would a relevant master be in getting AP jobs and getting on the doctorate? I also have an interest in the research side of things so would doing a second dissertation for a masters be valuable for a research job? Thanks:smile:

Hiya,

A masters would certainly be helpful! I feel your pain - it is such a competitive field, you really need to do anything and everything you can to help you stand out. I got lucky with my AP role as it came up in the company I already worked for and involved working with the same cohort of clients I had experience working with (substance misuse problems/ homelessness). The roles are so competitive, so be prepared to keep applying and just try to get as much experience and training as you can in the meantime.
There is not a straightforward answer, as it will depend on several factors.