The Student Room Group

Will I be kicked off the course or have to repeat the year if I fail an assignment?

I’m in my first year of uni. I turned in my assignment late due to TurnItIn not working so my grade is capped, but I think I’ve failed anyway. What happens now??? Will I fail the entire module? Will I have to repeat the year? Will they kick me off the course? I’m seriously panicking. If I get kicked out of university my life is basically over, I don’t know what to do now.
Original post by kittyx07hcw
I’m in my first year of uni. I turned in my assignment late due to TurnItIn not working so my grade is capped, but I think I’ve failed anyway. What happens now??? Will I fail the entire module? Will I have to repeat the year? Will they kick me off the course? I’m seriously panicking. If I get kicked out of university my life is basically over, I don’t know what to do now.

Hi there.

Please don't panic - failure is part of life, I believe you can resit the assignment at the end of the year but may be totally wrong so am tagging @Admit-One :smile:
Reply 2

It depends.

For some modules, you might simply need to get a pass overall, so a fail mark in one component can be compensated by a higher mark in the remaining component(s). In other cases, you need to get a pass mark in each of the module's components.

In general, if you fail a module you'll be given another opportunity during the summer resit period to make up a failed component. If you fail that, then a progress board would make a decision on what happens next. There are probably a variety of options open to them.

You'll need to check what your university's regulations allow. Perhaps have a chat with your personal tutor.