The Student Room Group

Doing a non-law degree, will it effect my chances of a tc?

Hi Guys,

Will be starting at Leeds in September, doing a foundation year to progress onto either politics/IR or law. I am hoping to secure a TC at a decent firm but was wondering whether not doing a law degree would affect my chances of securing a training contract (as I would have to do the PGDL - as apparently firms want this before the SQE, although not mandated by the SRA). Would it be safer doing a Law degree, or equal chances if I did a non-law degree?

Thanks!!
Original post by symptom
Hi Guys,

Will be starting at Leeds in September, doing a foundation year to progress onto either politics/IR or law. I am hoping to secure a TC at a decent firm but was wondering whether not doing a law degree would affect my chances of securing a training contract (as I would have to do the PGDL - as apparently firms want this before the SQE, although not mandated by the SRA). Would it be safer doing a Law degree, or equal chances if I did a non-law degree?

Thanks!!

You'd likely have to do a pgdl but having a non law degree won't work against you when applying for TCS.
short answer: equal chances. City law firms recruit roughly 50/50 law and non-law
I'm a non-law and have done 4 ACs, secured 3 Vacation Schemes (1MC, 1SC, 1US).
(edited 2 years ago)
Original post by symptom
Hi Guys,

Thanks!!

Hi Symptom

If you intend to go straight into law from university, you need to make sure your degree is a qualifying law degree (not all are- a good list can be found here: https://www.sra.org.uk/become-solicitor/legal-practice-course-route/qualifying-law-degree-common-professional-examination/qualifying-law-degree-providers/) .