The Student Room Group

Phone contract or buy outright ?

My phone broke last night, its 3 years old and a piece of trash really, needed to get a new one and taking it to a shop to get repaired will cost more than the phone value.

Whats the best way to go about buying a new phone and can anyone give me recommendations on phone companies which offer contracts. Looking at getting an I phone 11. I have always had 24 month contracts paying the phone off and for the data bundle etc, however this works out more expensive.

Anything will be appreciated !!!
Reply 1
I've switched to buying my phones outright or with 0% interest payments separate + sim only contract. Better value. This time I opted to use the 0% Barclay's financing over 24 months and bought direct from Apple (credit check and I'm an apprentice, so employed). Amazon have the iPhone 12 available with 12 monthly Amazon payments, so 0% and no credit check. It's more expensive than the 11 but payments are about £55/month. Compare the cost of that + sim to a 2-3 year contract. You could look at using Klarna for a pay in 3 and then look for refurbished option. Giffgaff sell refurbished phones with a 12 month warranty, but the only Klarna they offer is 12 months at 14.9%, but if you can pay in 3 then you can go to Klarna and get a one-time card to make the purchase and pay in 3. This way you aren't overpaying and you can get a sim only contract. I can't justify phone contracts anymore. I even spent several years using the Pixel 3a because it was a phone I could buy outright (thankful to be back on an iPhone again). Hope you can find something in your budget!