Will Psychology at A level help me decide whether I want to study it further?

Watch this thread
Ami78
Badges: 0
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 3 months ago
I've heard that Psychology at a University level is vastly different and that enjoying it at A level does not necessarily mean I will enjoy doing it on a degree level. Is that true?
University of Huddersfield Student Rep
Badges: 14
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 3 months ago
Hi Ami78,

I didn't study psychology at A-Level, but hopefully I can still give you some perspective that might be useful.

I studied Politics, Sociology and Philosophy at A-Level - I enjoyed thinking about world we live in, in terms of people as individuals and within the wider structures and context. The fact that I enjoyed these types of topics meant that I've really enjoyed my course. Psychology at university covers a broad spectrum of area's, but there's also room for you to explore the things that interest you through your assignment's, interactions with your tutors and your final year research project. The depth is probably very different to A-Level psychology and way that you learn about certain topics, the critical thought and evaluation is probably quite different.

Depending on the type of content you're interested in learning about, and the type of skill's you like using e.g. essay writing, critical evaluation, lots of reading etc. will determine how you're likely to feel about the course at degree level.

I hope this makes sense!
- Rebecca, 3rd Year Psychology Student
McGinger
Badges: 18
Rep:
Report 3 months ago
Psychology at Uni level is very much a STEM subject.

Btw, just be aware that an undergraduate degree in Psyc does not make you 'a Psychologist'.