The Student Room Group

Masters in Environment, Sustainability, Development - Goldsmiths, Sussex or UCL?

Hi!

I just got accepted to the Sustainable Development MSc at USussex
and to the MA in Ecology, Culture & Society at Goldsmiths.

I am also thinking about applying to the Environment, Politics and Society MSc at UCL, but I am a bit worried with the workload - as an international student, it is mandatory that I go for the full-time course.

Any advice on where to go?
Reply 1
UCL is definitely the most reputable out of all mentioned, though you are correct that it comes with the workload. And for the study period, it depends on university & courses some offers only FT but some you can also choose PT.

Ps. I’m also an international student (starting Sep 22), and I’ve spent a semester abroad at Sussex before during my undergrad, and can honestly say that I loved it there. The uni vibe is so friendly, everyone was so nice and helpful and Brighton is obviously beautiful. So if rankings don’t really matter to you, Sussex is highly recommended!
(edited 2 years ago)
Reply 2
Thanks a lot for answering and congrats on being accepted! I will also start Sep 22, just don't know where lol. Where will you be studying?

I am curious about what you said about the FT and PT modes: what came up in my research was that we, international students, can only apply for the FT version. Do you have other info about that? Will you also be studying FT?

PS. Everyone talks so highly of their experience at Sussex, it really makes me inclined to accept it. It is also the 01 ranked for development studies, but to have the name UCL in my CV as a parent uni probably trumps that.
(edited 2 years ago)
Reply 3
Thank you! And I’m also still trying to decide mine aha, but I’ll be going for MSc International Management.