The Student Room Group

Gcse options

Hi I’m in year 9 and I picking my options in a couple of weeks.

I will be doing the compulsory subjects which are English lit and language,maths,triple science and a language

My optional subjects are computer science geography and economics

Are these good options and what will I be learning in them

Also I wanted to know if dropping a language is allowed and in my school it’s compulsory but I’m really terrible in it and I don’t understand a thing
Reply 1
I studied computer science and it’s quite easy, usually starts you off with Python. You’ll learn about hardware, security and other basic computer info :smile:
Original post by Depressed44

I will be doing the compulsory subjects which are English lit and language,maths,triple science and a language

Also I wanted to know if dropping a language is allowed and in my school it’s compulsory but I’m really terrible in it and I don’t understand a thing

There is no rule that you have to take a language - many school try to make you so their Ebacc data stays high. It's of no benefit to you.

You need to look up the specifications to find what you'll learn about :smile:
Reply 3
Original post by Schotel
I studied computer science and it’s quite easy, usually starts you off with Python. You’ll learn about hardware, security and other basic computer info :smile:

Thanks, we haven’t started computer science yet as I haven’t picked my options yet, are there any resources for computer science that I can learn to be ahead of everyone else when we start it
Reply 4
Original post by Muttley79
There is no rule that you have to take a language - many school try to make you so their Ebacc data stays high. It's of no benefit to you.

You need to look up the specifications to find what you'll learn about :smile:

Thanks, so what can I do to drop it as it’s compulsory in my school