The Student Room Group

What is on the LNAT and how to study for it

Hey, I'm a student in high school right now and I'm looking to sit the LNAT later this year. Can anyone here emphasise what the format is and how I might go about studying for it?
Reply 1
I sat the LNAT in November 2021 and got a good score on it. I mostly used the practice tests on the LNAT website to revise for the multiple choice and I would write practice essays to send to my English teacher for feedback. I also used "Mastering the National Admissions Test for Law" book by Mark Shepherd which gives a general overview of the test and how to go about answering the questions, it also has practice tests at the back of the book which I found helpful. Otherwise, keeping up to date on current affairs and reading newspaper articles should also help you prepare for the essay section. Hope this helps and good luck sitting the LNAT!

Original post by idk_2005
Hey, I'm a student in high school right now and I'm looking to sit the LNAT later this year. Can anyone here emphasise what the format is and how I might go about studying for it?
Reply 2

I only had 4 days to study for it and I used arbitio and know I would of failed without it (but that’s also because I had so little time to work for it ahah), it’s expensive but helps so much.

Hi there @idk_2005

LNAT comprises two parts: 42 passage-based MCQs and an essay question. For the essay, you get two or three options to choose from. When you get the results, you only get it for the MCQ part whereas the universities assess your essay individually (some don't even tell you your essay score).