The Student Room Group

City law firm chances?? Need help

Hi everyone,

I am an international student who secured a first class LLB at a top 10 UK university and am currently preparing for my LLM exams at a top 3 UK uni. I also have some legal experience at an MC and US firm in one of their international offices.

I hate my course and uni which has affected my academics. I am most likely going to get a pass on the LLM and wanted to know how screwed I am for a career with a city firm? Would self-funding the lpc/sqe and (hopefully) getting a distinction make up for the weak LLM classification? I know that I have the ability to get a distinction but various circumstances (not enough to be mitigating circumstances) have just really demotivated me from the course.
Reply 1
I am at a non-russell group UK university. A classmate of mine, who is yet to even graduate, has secured a training contract with Clifford Chance (a magic circle firm). Your first class degree should suffice to demonstrate intellectual ability. But don’t let your demoralisation affect the rest of your application (even subconsciously). The competition is fierce. Even if your circumstances aren’t ‘enough’, if they adequately explain why your LLM wasn’t great - explain them, even to your advantage e.g. decided to use the LLM to explore an area of law i thought I might enjoy but really disliked, plus X and Y circumstances - or whatever yours are.

Your experience is also good. Grab as much more for your CV as you can, then it’s really down to a strong application imo.

Hope that helps and best of luck!
Reply 2
Original post by Throwaway183737
Hi everyone,

I am an international student who secured a first class LLB at a top 10 UK university and am currently preparing for my LLM exams at a top 3 UK uni. I also have some legal experience at an MC and US firm in one of their international offices.