The Student Room Group

Should I consider prestige/ranking when choosing a course?

I’m a year 12 student working at AAB and targeted A*A*A. I want to do English (and possibly creative writing) at uni.

I think I’m expected to aim for Russell Group unis, and some of them seem like I’d like them. I’m afraid of people thinking I’m a failure/making a mistake for not taking the opportunity to go to a Russell Group uni if I’m able to.

I think I like the idea of smaller unis such as Aberystwyth, but I’ll probably pick a uni course based on the modules over this. I might also consider unis with links to the publishing industry, as I have an interest in going into the publishing industry.

Should I consider prestige/ranking? Feel free to ask follow-up questions to better answer me.
Original post by bowlingforsoph
Should I consider prestige/ranking? Feel free to ask follow-up questions to better answer me.

Only hot-housed TSR children put 'prestige' front and centre of their considerations when deciding which university is best for them to go to. For sensible students, 'Prestige' should be left where it belongs - on the bottom of a pressure cooker - and you should make your choice based on course and your priorities.

UEA has the most celebrated creative writing course in the UK in their postgrad MA course, and has done for years. The BA (code W8Q3) isn't to be sniffed at either. UEA isn't Rus(s)e(l)l group, never has been and has no intention of being. This should be illustrative of my point.
Depends what you want to do afterwards, basically.

If you want to be an investment banker then yes, you need to go to a target uni and those are the ones conventionally considered most "prestigious". If you don't do that, you most likely will struggle to get interviews in that field.