The Student Room Group

Does eating more help with fat loss?

I have seen people get lean after eating more food and wanted to know if eating more helps you look leaner/more toned? This obviously paired with consistent weight lifting.
Any tips to look more toned/leaner while building muscle if this is not there case?
Hey!

I'm not a dietician, GP, PT trainer, nor have I studied Nutrition, Fitness or Health in any manner. If you want the best advice on these subjects, consult a professional.

From what I know, which is very limited, to get lean you have to cut your maintenance calories, there are multiple calculators online to find your maintenance calories.

If you were to eat above your maintenance calories while trying to get lean, you'd have to lose more calories than you eat every day, this would involve a lot of cardio combined with weightlifting. The best way to get lean is to eat below your maintenance calories and eat healthy (greens, etc.)

There's multiple articles and people online who will be able to help you way more, talking to a PT or dietician would be best as they know HEAPS about this stuff.

Good luck in your journey.
Some friends have done this and lost a lot of weight.
Combining changing their diets to increase their protein & fibre content, reducing portion sizes per meal/snack, increasing daily exercise and sometimes intermittent fasting.
Slashing their consumption of refined sugar, salt, most red meat, saturated fats, booze and ultra-processed junk foods.
Reply 3
Original post by LaraMari16
I have seen people get lean after eating more food and wanted to know if eating more helps you look leaner/more toned? This obviously paired with consistent weight lifting.
Any tips to look more toned/leaner while building muscle if this is not there case?