The Student Room Group

Nottingham vs Durham Economics Undergrad

Hi, I'm an international student and I have received offers for Economics from Durham and Nottingham (and York).
From the Guardian Rankings, Durham ranks way better overall and in terms of employment. and it is considered a target for top IB & MBB firms. But I plan on doing an MBA and economics at Nottingham is more quantitative and still has pretty good employment opportunities & a good international reputation I believe? I've also read that Durham can be very elitist?
Which university do you think is better for economics? I'm having such a hard time deciding.
(edited 2 years ago)
Original post by n4ndini
Hi, I'm an international student and I have received offers for Economics from Durham and Nottingham (and York).
From the Guardian Rankings, Durham ranks way better overall and in terms of employment. and it is considered a target for top IB & MBB firms. But I plan on doing an MBA and economics at Nottingham is more quantitative and still has pretty good employment opportunities I believe?
Which university do you think is better for economics? I'm having such a hard time deciding.

At the Undergraduate level, UK targets are Oxford, Cambridge, LSE, Warwick, UCL and Imperial. Durham is the best semi-target however it really won't make much of a difference.
(edited 2 years ago)
Reply 2
Original post by Blablu
At the Undergraduate level, UK targets are Oxford, Cambridge, LSE, Warwick, UCL and Imperial. Durham is the best semi-target however it really won't make much of a difference.

so would you suggest Nottingham over Durham (If it won't make much of a difference)? international fees for Durham is also much higher than Nottingham
Original post by n4ndini
so would you suggest Nottingham over Durham (If it won't make much of a difference)? international fees for Durham is also much higher than Nottingham

Since you prefer Nottingham, go with that. You'll need to work very hard to get into IB either way.