The Student Room Group

S6 subject choices

Hi, I’m in a bit of a dilemma. I’ve put in my subject choices for S6 but I’m not so sure now on picking physics... I’m planning on studying mathematics at university. My choices: AH Mathematics, AH Biology, Crash higher physics.I chose physics because it does involve a bit of math but I’m worried i might struggle because this is the first time i am studying physics🥲 I am teaching myself Nat 5 currently but still a bit worried. If i get in A in higher chemistry this year i might see if i can swap it out for physics at the beginning of the new term. Thoughts?
Have you tried discussing this with your teachers?
Do you enjoy physics more or chemistry more?
Reply 2
Original post by milu457
Hi, I’m in a bit of a dilemma. I’ve put in my subject choices for S6 but I’m not so sure now on picking physics... I’m planning on studying mathematics at university. My choices: AH Mathematics, AH Biology, Crash higher physics.I chose physics because it does involve a bit of math but I’m worried i might struggle because this is the first time i am studying physics🥲 I am teaching myself Nat 5 currently but still a bit worried. If i get in A in higher chemistry this year i might see if i can swap it out for physics at the beginning of the new term. Thoughts?

Higher physics is not too bad a crash higher - I know a girl doing it this year as you need it for vetmed and she has never studied it - but chemistry is quite a big higher (you won't understand it all first go, you have to work on it) so no matter what you will be putting in a lot of effort. Do what you think is best for you, your future, but also take into consideration how much you will enjoy each subject.
Original post by milu457